2017 Kaituna TT Results


Open Mens podium from left Kenny Mutton (3rd), Zack Mutton (2nd), Vavra Hradilek (1st).

The first event in the NZ Extreme race series the Kaituna Timetrial went down last weekend, with nice healthy flows and some super fast paddlers combining to produce some of the fastest times we’ve ever seen down the tuna at commercially raftable flows.

The first event of the season is always a great catch up with paddling community, which together with the super fun kaituna rapids, made for an awesome day on the river. Just over 50 paddlers gathered for the race, with a stronger than usual field of junior men and open women which was great to see.

In the Open men category it was Czech legend Vavra Hradilek who took the win in a blistering 6min 5sec (Is sub 6 now doable??), closely followed by the quicker than quick father son duo of Zack and Kenny Mutton. In the Open women Martina Wegman (NED) narrowly claimed top honours from local Olympian Luuka Jones in a time of 6min 37sec, with kiwi paddling legend Nikki Kelly in 3rd.

The Junior mens category saw young speedster Jack Saies (Tauranga) convincingly defend his title with back to back wins, finishing well ahead of the pack in a time of 6min 35sec. Max Dobbe followed in 2nd place with Oliver English in 3rd.  Special mention needs be made for Bill Thompson (Wellington) taking top honours in the Masters Men Category in a time of 7min 5 sec. Come on masters, we need more of you next year!


Junior Mens’ podium from left Oliver English (3rd), Max Dobbe (2nd) and Jack Saies (1st).


In the Teams Baton Relay, Team ‘Te Puke Thunder’ consisting of Captain Carl Whitehead, Cole O’Conner-Stratton and Jack Dangen took out the competition, earning themselves a delicious 6 pack of pilsner and mad respect from all. All in all it was a light hearted but super fun race.



For a full run down of results for the Timetrial runs click on the links below…

Kaituna Time Trial 17 – Open Men

Kaituna Time Trial 17 – Open Women

Kaituna Time Trial 17 – Under 18

Kaituna Time Trial 17 – Masters


2017 WWXL BoaterX @ Wero


Sunday 26 November 2017 the second annual WWXL BoaterX is on at Vector Wero Whitewater park in Auckland. The following weekend after the Kaituna Time-trial, the WWXL 4 person boaterX is held on the Grade 4 section of the course with big prize money up for grabs.

To take home top WWXL BoaterX honours (and the prize money) paddlers are allocated points from BOTH the Kaituna Time-trial AND the WWXL BoaterX, which are then added together for a final points total and ranking.

Entry for the WWXL BoaterX is $140, which includes entry into the Kaituna Time-trial also. (Kaituna TT event only is $25)

WWXL are still taking entries for the BoaterX until Saturday 18th November so head on over to https://wwxl.co.nz/ for more info and REGISTER for the boaterX!


WWXL BOATRX – Points Allocation for All Categories

  K1 K1W
WWXL BOATRX -Kaituna Time Trial 500 500
WWXL BOATRX – Head to Head 500 500
Total 1000 1000

1st Place   100%
2nd Place  88%
3rd Place   79%
4th Place   72%
5th – 18th   less 3% each place

WWXL BOATRX Open Category Prize Money

  1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th
BXK1M  $2,000  $1,500  $1,200  $1,100  $1,000  $900  $800  $700  $600  $500
BXK1W  $2,000  $1,500  $1,200  $1,100  $1,000  $900  $800  $700  $600  $500


Kaituna Time-Trial 2017


The first race of 5 in the 2017/18 NZ Extreme race series kicks off on the Kaituna River, Okere Falls on the 18th November 2017.

It consists of a time trial race, a long boat race and finally a 3 person teams relay race.

Categories: Open Men, Open Women, U18 Men, U18 Women, Masters (40 and over)

Prize money: Podium for the time-trial event will receive prize money (amount depends on no. of entries)

Entry: $25 (pre-registered), or $30 on the day.

Registration: Fill in the form at the bottom of this post and complete payment details. International paddlers without a NZ bank account are able to pay on the day.

WWXL PADDLERS: Anyone already registered for the WWXL BoaterX has free entry into the Kaituna Time-trial. Head over to https://wwxl.co.nz/wwxl-boatrx/ to register if you havent already!


  • For the Time Trial you will get two race laps down the Kaituna River to post your fastest single lap time, which will count for your overall ranking.
  • Time-trial starts from the ramp at the control gates (put-in), all the way down to bottom hole, where there will be a finish touch-banner on river left.

Long Boat race:

  • Time trial format
  • Any plastic boat 2.7m or longer can race

Team Relay Race:

  • 3 person teams
  • BoaterX rules apply.
  • 3 legs – ‘Control gates to Weir’, ‘Weir to Waterfall’, ‘Waterfall to Bottom Hole’.
  • Mass Start from Control Gates
  • Teams can decide their own order.
  • Each team member must pass their team ‘baton’ to their next racer before the exit of the pool at the end of each leg.


  • Safety will be placed at Weir, Waterfall and Bottom hole rapids.

Kaituna Time-trial day Schedule:

8:30am – 9:15am – Late Registrations and Bib pickup @ Okere Falls store

9:15am – Mandatory Race Briefing @ Okere Falls store

10:00am til 12pm – Time trial Racing (Competitor start times to be announced on race day)
12:30pm – Long boat Race (1 lap only)

2pm – Teams relay (mass start)

4:00pm – Prize giving @ Okere Falls store


Fill in and submit the form below, and complete your registration by depositing your $25 entry fee via internet banking into the following account…  PRE-REGISTRATION ENDS 9PM 17TH NOVEMBER.

Account name: NZEWW Events

Account No.: 38-9016-0537751-00

Reference: Entrant Name and Event Name e.g B Bayly Kaituna TT

2016/17 NZEWW Extreme Race series Champions!

Congratulations to our NZ extreme Race Champions for 2017!

Defending Men’s national champion Carl Whitehead of Te Puke has taken out the men’s competition the second year in a row! Closely followed by Zack Mutton (Rotorua) 2nd and Joe Morley (GBR) in 3rd.

2016 Adidas Sickline world champion Sandra Hyslop (GBR) reigned supreme in the women’s competition followed by Toni George (Rotorua) 2nd and Kim Dodd (Rotorua) in 3rd. Sandra as winner of the 2017 series also receives the Lulu memorial trophy and grant.

In the Junior Men’s competition George Snook (Rotorua) took top honours from his neighbour Michel Uhl, with Swiss speedster Jan Rohrer in 3rd. Jan deserves special mention as he dominated the junior field and also placed very respectively in the open men category for a couple of series races. All 3 Junior men pose a serious threat to the open men in years to come.


2017 NZEWW Open Mens Extreme Race Series Points Standings


2017 NZEWW Open Women Extreme Race Series Points Standings


2017 NZEWW Junior Men Extreme Race Series Points Standings